Wood & Panel
Home » Featured News » DOMOTEX announces finalists for Carpet Design Awards 2024 edition

DOMOTEX announces finalists for Carpet Design Awards 2024 edition

 Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Listen to this news

For the 19th time, the globally recognized Carpet Design Awards stand as a symbol of carpet design excellence and outstanding craftsmanship. Discover the best in contemporary handmade carpets and celebrate the world of carpets with us at DOMOTEX 2024!

2024 finalists have been announced

Knotted, tufted, embroidered, printed, silk, wool and groundbreaking new materials: The CDA is the most important and prestigious design award in the world of carpets. Many previous winners are among the best in the entire industry, shaping current and future trends with their designs.

For anyone keen on experiencing the latest in the carpet world, the award ceremony is a must! It will take place on January 12, 2024 at 5:30 pm at the CDA area in Hall 3. In collaboration with COVER and HALI magazines, exhibitors and carpet designers from around the world present their latest designs and innovations at DOMOTEX in the hope of winning one of the prestigious awards. As with every year, the jury is devoted to find the best in design, quality and exquisite artisanship when choosing the finalists.

Under the direction of Jamie Metrick, Managing Director of Elte, a jury of international experts from the design and carpet industry selected the most convincing designs in eight categories. A total of 206 carpet designs were submitted worldwide for the Carpet Design Awards 2024. Of these, 24 entries reached the final round of the competition.

All finalist carpets will be on display in the CDA area until the last day of the show.

The categories of the award:

There are eight categories that emphasise the CDA’s focus on original design, quality and innovation

Category 1: Best Studio Artist Design
Original small scale production design from an artist or designer

Category 2: Best Modern Design Superior
Original contemporary designs showing optimum use of materials < 250 €/m²

Category 3: Best Modern Design Deluxe
Original contemporary design showing optimum use of materials > 250 €/m²

Category 4: Best Transitional Design
A new rug that interprets traditional designs for a contemporary audience

Category 5: Best Flatweave Design
Original rug design demonstrating the flatweave technique

Category 6: Best Collection
Contemporary Traditional or Transitional design collections demonstrating a common theme

Category 7: Best Interior
A high-end customisation project or rug installation represented by high-quality images

Category 8: Sustainability Award
A rug that is produced with a low carbon footprint or/and that incorporates ethical practices

“The Carpet Design Awards are truly important to the market as they provide invaluable insight into the designs, trends and techniques of a particular period. Furthermore, they push the best of the best artisans to continue innovate and bring something new to the market each year.”

Jamie Metrick, Managing Director of Elte and Chairman of the Jury of the Carpet Design Awards 2023.

The Jury

An international jury composed of experts from the design and carpet industry judges the Carpet Design Awards. The jury will assess all of the entries and shortlist for each of the eight categories three carpets that are characterized by exceptional design, quality and craftsmanship.

Read more news on: DOMOTEX

Tags: , , , ,


Read Magazine Online

Subscribe to our Newsletters

I want to receive wood industry news and event update from Wood & Panel. I have read Wood & Panel Privacy Notice.

Our Partners